RSS Feed

THE TABLE IS DONE!

Posted on

FINALLY!

Before:

And After:

How it was done (more or less – I’m going to leave out the parts where I realized I was doing it wrong, had to sand it off, had to sand it off some more, painted it, repainted it, repainted it, so on and so forth. However, I will add in my DUMBASS TIPS so you don’t make the same mistakes I did.)

1. Remove chair pads from chairs and remove the existing fabric. If they are stapled on with heavy duty staples like mine were, I suggest using a flat-tip screw driver and a pair of needle-nose pliers.

2. The table and chairs had a glossy finish before, so it needed to be sanded to allow the primer and paint to adhere to it. You don’t need to sand off the existing paint, just scruff it up.¬† DUMBASS TIP: make sure you sand as evenly as possile so there are not spots where the wood/particle board are bare and others that still have some paint. This will make a difference in the finish when you put the new paint on top of it.

2. Wash the chairs and table to remove all dust and flotsam from the sanding. Let dry completely before moving on to the next step.

3. You can use paint from a can, or you can use spray paint. I used spray paint (eventually) because I needed a really smooth finish for the table top – no brushstrokes, please – and to make it easier to cover the bars in the chair backs. First, use a tinted primer that’s close to the color of the paint you’ll be using. DUMBASS TIP: I didn’t use primer on the chairs, and ended up needing 3 more coats of paint on them than the table. Save yourself the grief and use primer.

4. Once the primer is dry, use the spray paint. You’ll need anywhere from 2 – 6 coats, depending on if you used primer, if it is windy outside when you’re spraying, how evenly you spray, etc. DUMBASS TIP: Take the time and do it right with the spray paint – rushing through and doing a sloppy job WILL show. This means even strokes with the can, holding it a proper ditance from the work, and doing even coverage. Let dry for at least 2 hours between coats.

5. Time for the design. For mine, I traced a flower from the fabric I was using for the chairs and transferred the tracing to leftover craft paper I had (this is Martha Stewart’s crosshatch paper). Once transferred, cut out the design carefully with an X-acto knife. I made the dots with just a hole punch. DUMBASS TIP: Transfer the drawing on to the back of the paper, and cut out there, so it’s nice and clean on the front where the design is.

6. Once you determine where you want the cut-out to be on the table, brush a layer of Mod Podge Hard Coat (for furniture) on to the area. Carefully put the cut-out on the glue, and smooth out to ensure that there are NO bubbles or ripples. Line the hole punched dots in a row to mimic the design. DUMBASS TIP: Try this with a couple of lights from different angles. It will make it easier to find bubbles/ripples.

7. Once placed, brush a thin, even layer of Mod Podge Hard Coat over the design, being careful not to disturb the paper or move it at all.

8. Once that dries COMPLETELY, spray table and chairs with 2 coats of clear finish spray paint, to protect it.

9. Chair pads – Lay each pad face down on your fabric. Cut around it with an allowance of about 2 inches from the edge. Fold the fabric over slightly, pull to the back and staple it to the back of the chair pad. Continue all around, making sure the fabric is taut against the chair pad. DUMBASS TIP: make sure the fabric is not too bulky, or it won’t fit properly when you reattach the chair pad.

10. Once the chairs are dry, reattach the chair pads.

11. Make sure the dog likes it.

Success!

37 responses »

  1. I’m astonished at how you transformed the dining set! The repeat of the fabric design on the tabletop is genius. Thanks for the shout-out to Felt-o-rama. I’m always delighted to meet another felt aficionado ;)

    Reply
  2. April – Anytime! I am in love with your site, just wish I had some money right now1 As soon as I have a bit of extra spending money for crafts, I’m going to your site.

    Reply
  3. karen, that looks fantastic! Clyde wants you to know he likes it too.

    Reply
  4. Pingback: Project List Update! « The Neatery

  5. LOVE it! You did an awesome job -

    Reply
  6. I love this! I found it from some other website…Where did you get that fabric?!

    Reply
  7. Wow! Great job. . . and I love the tips included. The fabric is just perfect on those chairs!

    Reply
  8. Love it! The mod podge details on the table are so original and great fabric choice!

    Reply
  9. Love this! Where did you get that fabric? I have been looking for something to make a table runner out of that would match my stuff! Please let me know….thanks a ton!

    Reply
  10. Love the table transformation and all the D.A. tips! Made me laugh!

    Reply
  11. Wow! That is an amazing transformation. The fabric you used is gorgeous and I love how everything turned out. The flower on the table is a perfect accent. Just beautiful!!!

    Reply
  12. I too am curious about the fabric. It’s just what I’m looking for. Please share. :)

    Reply
  13. OMG…simply outstanding!! The fabric is FAB too!!! (where is it from?) Well done!! I am bookmarking your site!

    Reply
  14. What is the name of the paint you used? It looks like a dark cherry stain, do tell please!

    Reply
  15. Wonderful transformation, it looks like a completely different table and that fabric is just gorgeous!

    Reply
  16. This is incredible! And I love your “dumbass tips”! :-)

    Reply
  17. That is so stinkin’ cute! I’m highly impressed!

    Reply
  18. Wow! This is GORGEOUS! Sheer genius! ; – ) I too am interested in what color you used on the table and where you found the fab furniture. Fabulous job!

    Reply
  19. Looks beautiful! Like a brand new set of furniture!

    Reply
  20. Great Job! can you share what color and brand of spray paint you used? it’s not black, is it?

    Reply
  21. I love this!! I’m like everyone else and would like to know where you got your fabric!

    Reply
  22. I know it’s been asked before but I’ll be redundant – what is the brand and name of the paint color that you used? I would love to get some for a project that I have. Please, do tell!

    Reply
  23. What a fabulous project! Thanks for sharing.

    PS: how did you trace it so perfectly?

    Reply
  24. Pingback: It’s Great to be a Blogger « Delightful Dwelling

  25. I can’t remember the last time a blog made me laugh as hard as yours did with the Dumbass Tips. I did the same thing for six months with a board I was determined to make into a counter top. I ended up saying screw the sanding and staining, primed it and painted it with semi-gloss and several coats of polyurethane in the spray can because I’m OCD and there were brush strokes! Your project post has given me renewed faith that I made a good choice in saving my old kitchen table to recreate one day. Love your blog!

    Reply
  26. That is so elegant! I love it! I just tried my first furniture modge podge project today. It is not at all perfect but I did it with my kids and we had fun!

    Reply
  27. I love what you’ve done! Cute doggy too!!

    Reply
  28. fantastic!!! I love how the flower on the table seems to flow off on to the chairs.

    Reply
  29. I love this. I’ve been wondering what to do with my kitchen table. The top is so scratched up. I think I will try to re-finish the top and I am loving the painted flower on the top.

    Reply
  30. This is fabulous — great job!!
    I’m wondering — can you safely put food on the table? If you want to roll dough or something is the modge-podge food safe? What I mean is, will the food be contaminated in anyway? I would appreciate any insight you can offer. Thanks.

    Reply
  31. That is so gorgeous! I’m going to remember this for future reference.

    Reply
  32. Thank you so much for the detailed instructions. You did such a beautiful job with this dining set.

    Reply
  33. Hi, I love your project! I was wondering if you have any idea what this fabric is called. It is exactly what I have been looking for, for my craft room. Any idea what line it is from?

    Thanks so much!

    Reply
  34. PLEASE PLEASE PLEASE let us know what spray paint color/brand you used!! Gorgeous!!

    Reply
  35. (laughing) LOVE the “dumbass” tip!! Beautiful job – I am scared that I would mess this up!

    Reply
  36. Pingback: Kitchen table revamp! - Mod Podge Rocks

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

